User login

Enter your user ID.
Enter your password.

PARCC decision fails to address real issues

(Baton Rouge – August 20, 2014) Tuesday’s court ruling against the Jindal administration’s effort to block tests linked to Common Core State Standards fails to address the real issues facing teachers and their students as school opens for the 2014-15 school year, Louisiana Federation of Teachers President Steve Monaghan said today.


Tell our leaders: Put teaching and learning first!

Teachers and their students return to school this year under a cloud, with lawsuits and counter-lawsuits over testing and standards.

There is plenty of blame to go around about the confusion facing our schools this year. But one thing is certain: it’s not the fault of children and their teachers that politicians can’t agree on what should be taught and tested and tested and tested.

Until the mess is sorted out and the question of testing is settled, it is simply wrong to use any assessment this year to label our children, our teachers, or our schools.

Click here to learn more and send a message to leaders in Baton Rouge!

Listen to LFT President Steve Monaghan discuss the controversy swirling in the state capitol.

Help Us Put on a Great 50th Anniversary Convention for LFT!

Louisiana Federation of Teachers will hold its 50th Anniversary Convention in the city of New Orleans this November.  United Teachers of New Orleans is proud to be the host local. We are looking for help to plan and carry out the activities associated with this very special convention. If you are interested in working on any of the committees, please contact: Myrtis Johnson, Katrena Ndang, or Juanita Bailey at 504-304-2160.

The Committees are:

  • Kit Committee
  • Registration Committee
  • Door Prize Committee
  • Host Committee
  • Monitor Committee
  • Speaker Committee
  • Social Committee

Thank you. We look forward to your involvement to make this a Convention to remember!

Professional Development Workshops for 2014-2015

UTNO is proud to offer professional development workshops from the "Strategies for Student Success" series. These workshops feature research-based content on teaching and learning for novice and veteran teachers alike. Workshops will be held on Saturdays from 9:00 a.m. to 12 noon and on Thursday evenings from 5:30 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. Register Today!


LFT responds to Roemer's "apples-to-apples" speech

LFT President Steve Monaghan: “Let’s talk about the inherent unfairness of comparing Louisiana children with children in other states, given the current chaos and the documented failure to prepare students, parents, and teachers for these changes,”


Lawmakers Attempt to Silence Your Voice

In an effort to silence the Louisiana Federation of Teachers and other public sector unions, bills have been introduced to strike at the unions’ source of funding.

Powerful, well-funded organizations like the National Right to Work Committee in Washington, D.C. and the Louisiana Association of Business and Industry are pushing HB 172 by Rep. Kirk Talbot (R-River Ridge), HB 451 by Rep. Alan Seabaugh (R-Shreveport) and HB 1059, also by Rep. Talbot. The bills would prohibit public sector unions from collecting member dues through payroll deduction.